Uncertain

The last week has shown me how easy it is to lose confidence in myself.  There are a few circumstances in my life, that have really made me feel vulnerable.  Sometimes I feel almost paralyzed with fear.  This week one of my kids had a serious lapse in good judgement that left me helpless.  I have been extremely tense this week with fear.  I know that God will always be there for me, but I haven’t been able to remember it when fear felt like a straight jacket wrapped around me.

I also started a class this week with Katie Kendrick.  She is utterly amazing!  I have never seen anyone make art look so effortless.  I know that my skill level is not as good as many of the other students, which is adding to my fear of inadequacy.  Here are two of the paintings I have made in the class so far.

I like this one.  I think it really captures my feelings this week.

And this one fell short of my aspirations.  It reminds me of a puppet in drag, not quite the look I aimed for.

I am not all I wish for.  I have so much to learn and do.  I know that if I just practice more and trust God, I will become the person he wants me to become.  Some days I just wish it was easier.

3 thoughts on “Uncertain

  1. Howdy, I stumbled upon your site when trying to find good ideas regarding bouquets for a wedding and reception. You have got some quite good pictures here. Exactly what are their titles it would be great to know? I would like to make use of some of them in my own floral arrangements. Thank you. Megan Collins

  2. Hello Dina I’m taking Katie’s course as well and so far…i haven’t posted yet as my faces look more like aliens than simply faces! I do love yours they have a tenderness and a sweetness. It’s quite a struggling for me as i’m not familiar with painting at all but i love katie and i agree with you it seems effortless with her. with practice i believe something will come out of it. see you in our yahoo group xo

Leave a Reply

