Nostalgia

I took a class a few months ago with Katie Kendrick.  There were a lot of projects that I started and never had time or inspiration to finish, and there were even more, I never managed to start.  Yesterday, I bought her new book, Layered Impressions.  She had some exercises in there that were new to me.  I really enjoyed them, and they helped to open up my creativity.

This painting I had started months ago.  It is loosely inspired by a black and white photo of Lucille Ball.  I love the actresses of the 40s and 50s.  Anyway, I think I really enjoy the way this one turned out, and I hope you do too!  Let me know what you think.

Nostalgia

Nostalgia

3 thoughts on “Nostalgia

  1. Pingback: early morning gives a better share of writing « godfriedbomanslaan5

  2. I really like this one. The color mixes (I don’t know the technical term if there is one…but, the not total blending of colors (like the greens and other stand out colors in the hair ) in the hair and collar areas (most noticeable to me) remind me of tissue art. It’s an interesting piece (where’s that 2 thumbs up icon?). I agree with you. I like the 40s and 50s era…actresses, and styles among other things.

Leave a Reply

